Claude Debussy, Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun

Sergei Prokofiev, Violin Concerto No. 1; Rina Kubota, violin soloist

Hubert Parry, Symphony No. 3 in C “The English”

Connor Helms MusicaNova Composition Fellow:  Squaring the Circle: Sacred Geometry Fugue for Orchestra World Premiere


1918. The Great War ended and the age of perpetual worldwide conflict began. Old empires fell and new ones arose.  And the face of orchestral music was transformed.

The MusicaNova Orchestra takes you through this watershed year with music from Claude Debussy, Hubert Parry, and Sergei Prokofiev, and a world premiere  marking the start of the next tumultuous century.

Edmund Rubbra, Viola Concerto in A Major, Op. 75, Graham Cohen, viola soloist

César Franck, Symphony in D Minor

Akshaya Avril Tucker, MusicaNova Composition FellowSongs for Soprano, Hindustani Singer and Small Orchestra Arizona Premiere


Devotion and faith, no matter source, have always driven the arts. MusicaNova presents three works that beautifully reflect the fusion of spiritual and secular inspiration.

Rubbra was a devout Catholic but also a devotee of Catholic mystic and scientist Teilhard de Chardin; Franck was as devout but inspired to secular music by Eros; while Akshaya Avril Tucker expressly blends Western and South Indian music.

Tickets $33 and $38 plus fees
Available now at the MIM Box Office

W. A. Mozart, Rondo No 1 in D Major, K.485, Angelina Zhang, piano soloist

Carl Reinecke, Symphony No. 2, Op. 134 “Håkon Jarl” American Premiere

Anton Bruckner, Symphony No. 0 “Die Nullte” Arizona Premiere

Mayumi Kimura Meguro MusicaNova Composition Fellow, So far, Untitled World Premiere


Energy. Passion. Expression. Virtuosity. Storytelling. The 19th Century Romantic Era revolutionized musical composition, dethroning the structures and rules of the old regime.

The distinctive musical voices and unique harmonies that arise as Reinecke recounts the legend of Viking chieftain Håkon Jarl, and as Bruckner’s nearly lost “Symphony Zero” is recovered, are at once instantly recognizable and yet radically different from one another.  MusicaNova once again presents a program of premieres: the greatest music you’ve never heard – yet!

Tickets $33 and $38 plus fees
Available now at the MIM Box Office