2019-20 Orchestra Concerts

Beethoven to Tap Shoes
Inspired by Dance Around the World

October 20, 2019 at 2 PM
Musical Instrument Museum

  • Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 7 in A Major, Op. 92 “The Apotheosis of the Dance” (1813)
  • Morton Gould: Tap Dance Concerto (1952), Jenefer Miller, soloist
  • Peggy Glanville-Hicks: Sinfonia da Pacifica (1952)
  • Aiyana Braun, MusicaNova Composition Fellow: Practical Water (2019) Arizona Premiere

No less than Richard Wagner called Beethoven’s Symphony No. 7 “the apotheosis of the dance” for its energetic and engaging rhythms (though conductor Sir Thomas Beecham said “It’s like a lot of yaks jumping about”), while American Morton Gould’s Tap Dance Concerto features a master tapper as soloist with a symphony orchestra. The extraordinary Sinfonia da Pacifica of Australia’s Peggy Glanville-Hicks melds dances from Pacific Rim countries into an exotic mix of rhythms and sounds.

Rhineland Muses
Journeys in Romantic Music

January 12, 2020 at 2 PM
Musical Instrument Museum

  • Robert Schumann: Symphony No. 3 in A-flat Major, Op. 97 “Rhenish” (1850)
  • Eugen D’Albert: Cello Concerto in C Major, Op. 20 (1899), Peter Eom, soloist
  • Sam Wu, MusicaNova Composition Fellow: The Building of a City (2019) Arizona Premiere

Viking River Cruises has nothing on Robert Schumann, whose 1849 trip through the Rhineland with wife Clara that “felt like a pilgrimage” as they traveled through the castle-bedecked countryside, inspired his Rhenish Symphony.  Eugen D’Albert, a much-traveled cosmopolitan son of Italian and French parents, was born in Scotland, brought up in England, lived most of his life in Germany, and died in Latvia, where he’d gone to divorce his sixth wife.  He was inspired to write his remarkable Cello Concerto by Schumann’s eponymous work that was composed at the same time as his Rhenish Symphony.

The Mannheim Phenomenon
Centuries of String Orchestra Sound

May 10, 2020 at 2 PM
Musical Instrument Museum

  • Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Symphony in B Minor, 182/5 (1773)
  • Heitor Villa-Lobos: Bachianas Brasileras No. 9 (1945)
  • Ottorino Respighi: Ancient Airs and Dances, Third Suite (1932)
  • Quinn Mason, MusicaNova Composition Fellow: Irish Dance Suite (2019) Arizona Premiere

The String Orchestra concept first arose as an explosive sensation steamrolling out of Mannheim, Germany in the 1740s, and has been a staple of the concert repertoire ever since.  Composers range from CPE Bach (who was inspired by hearing the original Mannheim String Orchestra), to Brazilian Heitor Villa-Lobos, whose exotic Bachianas Brasileras manage to sound both like his country’s folk music and Bach at the same time, to Italian Ottorino Respighi, who ties together the centuries by bringing Renaissance music for lute and guitar up to date with a twentieth-century treatment of these old songs and dances.

All orchestra concerts feature a premiere from a MusicaNova Composition Fellow.  Programs are subject to update and change without notice.

MusicaNova Orchestra Concerts are supported by grants from the City of Phoenix Office of Arts and Culture, the Arizona Commission on the Arts, the Gannett Foundation, and Tempe Arts Grants.

FY20 Sponsors