Native American Flautist
and Grammy Award Nominee

R. Carlos Nakai

Spirit Horses, 2016 Version
by James DeMars

Works from American Composers
Three World Premieres

Saturday, January 28 at 3 PM
Scottsdale Presbyterian Church
Hayden and Osborn Roads

Sunday, January 29 at 4 PM
Central United Methodist Church
Central Avenue at Palm Lane, Phoenix

MusicaNova is featured on Valley Views
heard on KEZ-FM and other Phoenix area stations

 Concert Program

  • James DeMars, Spirit Horses, featuring Native American flute soloist R. Carlos Nakai
  • Graham Cohen, Concerto Grosso for Eclectic Trio (World Premiere), featuring the Rogue Trio
  • Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson, Sinfonietta No. 2
  • Dale Sakamoto, Perennial (World Premiere) MusicaNova Composition Fellow, Arizona State University
  • Graham Cohen and Mitchell Selznick, Poem (World Premiere)

MusicaNova Orchestra is delighted to welcome Native American flutist and multiple Grammy nominee R. Carlos Nakai, who joins the orchestra to play a new version of ASU composer James DeMars’ (b. 1952) Spirit Horses.  The program features a bountiful mix of works by American composers including Coleridge-Taylor Perkinson (1932-1996), one of the most prominent African-American composers of the 20th Century, working in  jazz, dance, pop, film, television, as well as classical music.  MusicaNova favorite Graham Cohen’s Concerto Grosso for Eclectic Trio and String Orchestra recalls the form of his work Unexpected Affinities, premiered by the orchestra in 2015.

MusicaNova proudly announces our new partnership with Arizona State University’s Herberger Institute School of Music Composition and Theory program, led by James DeMars, which is becoming a partner of MusicaNova’s unique Composition Fellows Program.  ASU and MusicaNova will jointly select one composer from the School of Music each season to become a Composition Fellow; the first MNO-ASU Composition Fellow is graduate student Dale Sakamoto.

MusicaNova Composition Fellow Dale Sakamoto is a graduate student in composition in the Herberger Institute School of Music at Arizona State University. His music has been performed in venues across the United States, Canada, and Europe.  Meandering between the lines of tonality and atonality, it is an eclectic blend of textural and motivic ideas.  
The Rogue Trio is an “unusual and dynamic combination of instruments” mixing high quality musicianship with ground-breaking compositions. Challenging the standard small ensemble, this violin (Kathleen Strahm), saxophone (Justin Rollefson), and piano (Mary Cota) formation explores luscious timbres, uncommon repertoire, and brilliant tones. rogue-trio-square-300


MusicaNova Orchestra concerts are supported by grants from the Arizona Commission on the Arts, the City of Phoenix Office of Arts and Culture, Scottsdale Arts, and Tempe Arts Grants.

Programs are subject to change without notice.