Saturday, March 17
4:00 PM

Arizona Piano Company

4134 East Wood Street, Phoenix

General Admission $15 – Seniors and Students $10
U18 free with paid admission

Flautist Alicia Wu, 17,  is a junior at Phoenix Country Day School in Paradise Valley AZ. She began playing the flute when she was 11 and currently studies with Brian Gordon, assistant principal flute of the Phoenix Symphony. She has been a member of the Phoenix Youth Symphony for four years.

Alicia placed first in the 2017 Arizona Flute Society Festival and the 2017 Arizona Musicfest Brass & Woodwinds Competition, and was honored as a soloist for the Tier 3 Honors Recital at the All-State Music festival. As a sophomore, Alicia received her school’s music award.

In addition to playing the flute, Alicia enjoys volunteering, ice-skating, reading, and writing.

Alicia’s Recital Program


  • Philippe Gaubert: Fantaisie for Flute and Piano
  • Jacques Ibert: Flute Concerto
    • I. Allegro
  • Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Flute Concerto in D Minor
    • I. Allegro
    • III. Allegro di molto
  • Gabriel Fauré: Morceau de Concours

With collaborative pianist Haeju Choi

Angelina Zhang12, a seventh grader at BASIS Ahwatukee, started studying piano at age 4 and a half with Mrs. Hong Zhu.  She returns to the MusicaNova Young Artists series where in May 2015, as the youngest performer in the series, she performed solos and duets with her sister Jessica.

Angelina is the winner of multiple prizes in various piano competitions in the past few years including the 2012, 2014, and 2016 East Valley Music Teacher Association (EVMTA) piano competitions, the 2013 and 2015 Arizona Young Artist piano competition, and the 2013, 2015, and 2017 Desert Valley Music Teacher Association (DVMTA) piano competitions.

During her spare time, she loves to read, solve math problems, paint, and make hand crafts.

Angelina’s Recital Program

  • Johann Sebastian Bach: French Suite No. 5 in G Major
    • Allemande
    • Gavotte
    • Gigue
  • Franz Liszt: Waldesrauschen
  • Claude Debussy: Estampes
    • I. Pagodes
    • III. Jardins sous la pluie
  • Dmitri Shostakovich: Concerto No. 2, Opus 102
    • I. Allegro

With collaborative pianist Yuriy Vereshchagin

General Admission $15 – Seniors and Students $10 – Under 18 free with a paid admission
Tickets are available online or at the door  BUY TICKETS NOW

MusicaNova Young Artists Concerts are supported in part by grants from the
Phoenix Office of Arts and Culture
and the Arizona Commission on the Arts

Arizona Commission on the Arts