The season finale features trombonist Jonathan Salcedo, 17, an Arizona School for the Arts senior, and pianist Sarah Zhao, 17, a junior at Mountain Ridge High School in Glendale, her second appearance in the series

March 30, 2019
4:00 PM

Arizona Piano Company

4134 East Wood Street, Phoenix


Jonathan Salcedo, 17, a senior at Arizona School for the Arts (ASA) in Phoenix, discovered the trombone in 4th grade and has never turned back.  Since then, he has dedicated himself to being a classical and jazz trombonist.

Jonathan is in his 4th season with the Phoenix Youth Symphony under the direction of Matthew Kasper, Associate Conductor of the Phoenix Symphony.

He has performed in the ASA Brass Quintet, Chamber Winds, Jazz Band, and Jazz Ensemble. Jonathan has been a member of Arizona’s selective Regional and All-State music festival ensembles, classical and jazz, each year of high school.He has also performed in the pit band with various youth theater productions, including: Annie, Cabaret, Newsies, Little Women and Shrek, as well as playing at local churches and party events.  

In 2018, Jonathan won first place in the statewide Young Musicians Concerto Competition for Senior Brass. In the following summer, he attended the Interlochen Arts Camp as a merit scholarship recipient, playing principal in the World Youth Ensemble and the Jazz Ensemble. At Interlochen, he studied with Mark Lusk, professor of trombone at Penn State, and Gerry Pagano, bass trombonist for the Saint Louis Symphony. In previous summers, he has attended the Eastern Music Festival and NAU’s Curry Summer Music Camp.

Jonathan has been studying with Dr. Bradley Edwards, professor of trombone at ASU, since 2016. His other principal teachers include Steve McAllister, Leslie Pozo, and Shea Marshall, with whom he studied piano and harmony.  He has also taken lessons with world-renowned jazz trombonist, Mr. Bob McChesney.

When he’s not playing trombone, Jonathan spends his time practicing piano and composing and arranging music for varying ensembles around the valley. Recently, his compositions and arrangements have been performed by his schools brass quintet, jazz combo, and brass ensemble. He is also quite accomplished in the kitchen, where he enjoys cooking and baking for friends and family.  His homemade lava cakes are a favorite!

Jonathan’s Recital Program
With Dr. Yeojin Seol, Collaborative Piano


Benedetto Marcello: Sonata no. 2 for Cello in E Minor

Eric Ewazen: Sonata No. 1
I. Allegro maestoso

Eugene Bozza: Ballade for Tenor Trombone and Piano

Sarah Zhao, 17, is a junior at Mountain Ridge High School. She began playing piano at the age of 5 and currently studies piano with Mrs. Snezana Krstic, and violin with Ms. Nokuthula Ngwenyama/ Mrs. Hisami Iijima Dillard.

Sarah has won several top prizes from MTNA State Piano Competition, Arizona Music Educator Association Solo and Ensemble Festival (piano), ASMTA James R. Anthony Piano Honors Recital, and Phoenix Music Teacher Association’s Elder Piano Competition. Sarah was the two-times semifinalist of the Classics Alive Young Artists Piano Competition.

Sarah has had masterclasses with Svetlana Smolina from Philadelphia International Music Festival, Professor Nelita True, Norman Krieger, Elisabeth & Eugene Pridonoff from Arizona Piano Institute, Dr. Robert Hamilton from ASU, and Professor Jeffrey Swan from NAU.

Sarah has participated in All-State Music Festivals as violinist and pianist.  In addition to twice featuring in MusicaNova Young Artists Series, Sarah also performed with her trio chamber music group at the Musical Instruments Museum.  Sarah had been with the Phoenix Youth Symphony for 4 years.

In Sarah’s free time, she enjoys reading, math, ballet, and painting. Sarah has been a member of the Study of Exceptional Talent at the Johns Hopkins Center for Talented Youth since 2015.

Sarah’s Recital Program
With Snezana Krstic, Collaborative Piano


J.S. Bach:  Partita No.2 BWV 826 Rondo & Caprice

Sergei Prokofiev:  Piano Sonata No.3

Frédéric Chopin: Mazurka Op. 50 No.3

Frédéric Chopin Grand Polonaise Brillante, Op 22

General Admission $15 – Seniors and Students $10 – Under 18 free with a paid admission
Tickets are available online or at the door  BUY TICKETS NOW

MusicaNova Young Artists Concerts are supported in part by grants from the
Phoenix Office of Arts and Culture
and the Arizona Commission on the Arts

Arizona Commission on the Arts